Panel – Post COVID-19 Cyber Security: The Challenges and Solutions

Wednesday, September 23rd, 2020

10AM – 11AM EDT


Sri Parameswaran – UNSW

Sir Parameswaran is a Professor in the School of Computer Science and Engineering. He also serves as the Program Director for Computer Engineering. His research interests are in System Level Synthesis, Low power systems, High Level Systems and Network on Chips. He has served on the Program Committees of numerous International Conferences, such as the Design Automation Conference (DAC), Design and Test in Europe (DATE), the International Conference on Computer Aided Design (ICCAD), the International Conference on Hardware/Software Codesign and System Synthesis (CODES-ISSS, as TPC chair), and the International Conference on Compilers, Architectures and Synthesis for Embedded Systems (CASES). He is an associate editor of the ACM Transactions on Embedded Computing Systems, and the EURASIP Journal on Embedded Systems.


Richard Buckland – UNSW

Professor Richard Buckland is the Director of First Year Experience of UNSW, Professor in CyberCrime Cyberwar and Cyberterror at the School of Computer Science and Engineering UNSW, Visiting Professor in Educational Design at the National University of Malaysia UKM, and Grand Challenge Visiting Professor in CyberSecurity at Taylors University. He was Director of Professional Education and Chair of the Academic Board of the Australian Computer Sociery, Director of Education of the Australian Centre for Cyber Security, and a Fellow of the Institute of Actuaries of Australia. He is the Director of the UNSW/CommBank Security Engineering Capability partnership -SecEDU, and long term member of the UNSW Academic Board and the University Academic Quality Committee.

He was the 2008 Australian and New Zealand Engineering Educator of the Year (Engineers Australia) and the 2013 Australian ICT Educator of the Year (iAwards) and has been the recipient of 10 peer reviewed awards in teaching and education including awards from the Australian College of Educators and the The Australian Learning and Teaching Council. He pioneered the first Australian MOOC, has hundreds of thousands of students and millions of views online, and is co-founder of social education platform

His research areas lie in Education and Teaching, and in Cyber Security and Security Engineering. Currently he is working on the affective domain (emotions, belief, motivation and feelings), learning communities and kindness, non-mark based motivation in online education, and engineering secure electronic elections in untrusted environments.

Farinaz Koushanfar – UCSD

Farinaz Koushanfar is a professor and Henry Booker Faculty Scholar in the Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) department at University of California San Diego (UCSD), where she directs the Adaptive Computing and Embedded Systems (ACES) Lab. She is the co-founder and co-director of the UCSD Center for Machine-Integrated Computing & Security (MICS) which launched in 2018. Before joining UCSD, she was a professor in the ECE department at William Marsh Rice University which she joined as an assistant professor 9 years earlier. Prof. Koushanfar received her Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science as well as her M.A. in Statistics from UC Berkeley in December 2005. Her research addresses several aspects of efficient computing and embedded systems, with a focus on hardware and system security, real-time/energy-efficient big data analytics under resource constraints, design automation and synthesis for emerging applications, as well as practical privacy-preserving computing.

Professor Koushanfar serves as an associate partner of the Intel Collaborative Research Institute for Secure Computing to aid developing solutions for the next generation of embedded secure devices. Dr. Koushanfar is a fellow of the Kavli Foundation Frontiers of the National Academy of Engineering. She has received a number of awards and honors for her research, mentorship, teaching, and outreach activities including the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) from President Obama, the ACM SIGDA Outstanding New Faculty Award, Cisco IoT Security Grand Challenge Award, MIT Technology Review TR-35 2008 (World’s top 35 innovators under 35), as well as Young Faculty/CAREER Awards from NSF, DARPA, ONR and ARO.

Nasir Memon – NYU

Nasir Memon is Vice Dean for Academics and Student Affairs and a Professor of Computer Science and Engineering at the New York University Tandon School of Engineering. He is an affiliate faculty at the Computer Science department in NYU’s Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, and department head of NYU Tandon Online. He introduced cyber security studies to NYU Tandon in 1999, making it one of the first schools to implement the program at the undergraduate level. He is a co-founder of NYU’s Center for Cyber Security (CCS) at New York as well as NYU Abu Dhabi. He is the founder of the OSIRIS Lab, CSAW, The Bridge to Tandon Program as well as the Cyber Fellows program at NYU. He has received several best paper awards and awards for excellence in teaching. He has been on the editorial boards of several journals, and was the Editor-In-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Information Security and Forensics. He is an IEEE Fellow and an SPIE Fellow for his contributions to image compression and media security and forensics. His research interests include digital forensics, biometrics, data compression, network security and security and human behavior.

Ingrid Verbauwhede -KU Leuven

Ingrid Verbauwhede’s main expertise includes system and architecture design, embedded system, ASIC and FPGA design and design methodologies for real-time, low power embedded systems and more specifically embedded security systems. She has experience in interdisciplinary research linking design for security with novel technologies and circuits, and investigating the requirements of novel cryptographic algorithms and software security requirements on secure hardware and HW/SW co-design.

Her ability to cross the gap between algorithm and protocol development and actual implementation in hardware, software and embedded systems has been widely recognized. Ingrid Verbauwhede has experience in running small and large research projects, fundamental ones (sponsored by NSF or FWO), basic research (funded by EU) and applied (in collaboration with industrial partners). Ingrid Verbauwhede is a fellow of IEEE and a member of the Royal Academy of Belgium for Sciences and Arts. In 2016 she received an advanced ERC grant and in 2017 a IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award for pioneering contributions to design methodologies for tamper-resistant and secure electronic systems.